Religion. Iceland. Humanity.

I think there is room in the world for whatever you believe as long as it is peaceful, nondiscriminatory, and you don’t expect the public sector to adopt laws that uphold your beliefs in spite of how those laws affect others. But the look on someone’s face when you tell them you are an atheist is…actually kind of awful sometimes. I feel the reaction is especially bad if the person feels like they KNOW that you are religious…because “you are such a good person.”

The secret is…I do try as hard as I can to be a good person because my religion is love, equity, peace, empathy, self-love, respect, and kindness. My religion is humanity.

I can’t help but wonder what the world would look like if there were more atheists on every continent. My hope? Maybe more like Iceland.‪#‎myreligionishumanity‬

Leave a Reply

